Uncategorized

aberdeen: photography exhibition by chris heppell

aberdeen

20th March – 23rd April 2017 / Sir Duncan Rice Library ground floor events area

Official Opening Event: Thursday, 30 March 2017, 18:00-19:00

This retrospective exhibition incorporates work from the past 7 years taken while studying for my MLitt and PhD at the University of Aberdeen. Using colour film, an early 1980s Minolta SLR camera with a light leak, and degrading or out of date film, my practice embraces the contingency of over-exposure. I hope to render the surface of the photograph contestable, transfiguring the everyday subject matter I encounter on frequent walks through the city.

The exhibition is dedicated to my friend the cultural theorist Mark Fisher who sadly passed away in January of this year. Author of “Capitalist Realism” and “Ghosts of my Life,” Mark was latterly a lecturer at Goldsmiths, and visited Aberdeen in 2012 to give a keynote address at the Moving Forward postgraduate conference I helped to organise. Mark was a generous supporter of my work and we had discussed collaborating on future projects before his death. See the link below for the blogpost Mark, writing as k-punk, published about my work in 2008 (at that time I went under the alias “clean eyes”).

http://k-punk.abstractdynamics.org/archives/010507.html

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

